The 10 best hand creams for gardeners

gardeners therapyburts beesloccitane

palmershemp-hand-protector_l gb_blackwells_hand_cream_500

I have a fair amount of spiky things: agaves, aloes, roses; and I’m not great about wearing gloves so I get pretty scratched up. I have to have something that heals the cracks and scratches, doesn’t irritate my super sensitive skin, and hydrates for a full day. Here are the ten best hand creams for gardeners I’ve tried (so far).

  1. Aquaphor Use this every day on your hands (and feet) right when you get out of the shower and it fixes everything. I find it too messy and sticky to use it any other way.
  2. Crabtree & Evelyn Gardeners Therapy My mom is a lifelong, hardcore gardener. You should see her garden, it’s unbelievable. She swears by this stuff.
  3. L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream This stuff is so rich, sinks right in, smells lovely, and the tube is pretty enough to leave out.
  4. Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream This sinks in and smoothes any cracks and leaves a bit of a protective barrier, and there’s no scent.
  5. Wild Ferns Manuka Honey Body Butter I picked up some at the airport in New Zealand as a souvenir, but it’s amazing stuff and you can get it on Amazon.
  6. Palmer’s Cocoa Butter (in the jar) Old school. I also used this on my stomach during both of my pregnancies a million years ago and got zero stretch marks.
  7. Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector Works extremely well, and even better over time, if you like the smell.
  8. Great Barrier Island Bee Co. Les Blackwell’s Gardeners Hand Cream Another made in New Zealand. I picked this up in a very adorable garden shop. Beautiful container, and does the job.
  9. Burt’s Bees Farmer’s Friend Hand Salve Great herbal smell, you know that smell when you go to a spa and the essential oils are just hanging in the air. A little greasy when you first put it on.
  10. Burt’s Bees Almond Milk Beeswax Hand Creme I’m a sucker for anything with almonds. It’s very thick. You almost need to let it melt on your skin a little before you rub it in.
Leave a Reply

