October planting: my nursery haul

galvezia speciosa island bush snapdragon tended.wordpress.com

So I did end up with a few plants that were not on my list, but they are really good ones! The Annie’s Annuals section at Half Moon Bay nursery is a dangerous place for anyone with a plant addiction and apparently for anyone who wants to buy a salvia. While shopping, I had an encounter with a hummingbird who was getting a little territorial over ‘his’ salvias.

Galvezia speciosa ‘Island Bush Snapdragon’ (pictured above) I’ve never grown this one but it sounds perfect: hummingbirds love it, it can take dry conditions, shade, and clay soil. 3′ high by 5′ wide, blooms late spring through fall, and can work as a mounding groundcover, which is how I will be using it, or a vining shrub. It’s native to the Channel Islands. (photo by Annie’s Annuals)

salvia apiana white sage tended.wordpress.com

Salvia apiana ‘White Sage’ I love, love, love silver plants. This one loves heat and drought and doesn’t want any summer water. Bees and hummingbirds love its white flowers that bloom in the spring on 3′ FLOWER SPIKES! Another California native, this one is endangered from illegal harvesting to make smudge sticks. We’ll see if it can take my heavy clay soil. (photo by Annie’s Annuals)

Abutilon megapotamicum 'Halo' tended.wordpress.com

Abutilon megapotamicum ‘Halo’ These are so pretty and they attract butterflies and hummingbirds. I always admire them and I couldn’t resist the apricot flowers on this one. I’ll put this in part shade near my Japanese Maple. At 4′ it should fill the spot perfectly.

woolly thyme tended.wordpress.com

Wolly thyme Look how cute it is! I couldn’t just leave it there. I’m going to put it in a crack along my raised bed and see if it makes enough to divide later on.

4 thoughts on “October planting: my nursery haul

  1. What a great selection, I can’t wait to see some pictures of the plants in your garden. I like silver leaved plants too, my are favorite is Dianthus and I have three varieties. My favorite is ‘Fire Witch’ because it has a very neat mounding habit which looks good all year. It has very bright chartreuse flowers. the only downside – the flowers not very fragrant.

  2. Pingback: 7 New Year’s resolutions for gardening | tended

  3. Pingback: Fall gardening in California: October nursery haul | tended

Leave a Reply

